A Good Psilocybin Guide is Hard to Find

Joseph Dana
7 min readSep 1, 2021
These aren’t psilocybin mushrooms, but they’re pretty.

I have been looking for psilocybin guides, and boy is it hard work. There has been an undeniable boom in psychedelics research to treat various conditions ranging from PTSD to depression. The use of psychedelics like psilocybin, the psychoactive ingredient in magic mushrooms, has been particularly effective in limiting anxiety in studies with terminally ill patients at Johns Hopkins University and New York University. Given the state of the world and the liberalization of drug laws in the United States, people are returning to plant medicine to ease the ills of modern life.

Since the birth of my son, I have been reconciling loose ends from my early childhood with positive results. During the lockdowns last year, I managed to inadvertently unlock repressed memories in a sort of lucid dream state through breathwork. But it’s my ego that needs the most work. Through traditional talk therapy, I have managed to dance around my ego but failed to break it down in any meaningful way or allow my heart to guide me more than my mind. While I haven’t struggled with depression, I have my share of anxiety.

For the first time in my life, I am prepared for a plant medicine to look through me and (hopefully) assist in dissolving my ego, however temporarily. I have never done any psychedelics, which might be a good thing as I have fewer expectations than those with…

--

--